Our Pops are Low in Lactose and Casein

May 16, 2014 | Our Pops

Since the beginning Steel City Pops has purposed to offer delicious dessert options for people with specific dietary limitations: all of our pops are gluten free and vegetarian friendly, and the fruity pops are dairy free. In short, the goal was to create a menu that featured something for everyone. But recently we learned that our recipes also include option for another community. If you have a lactose or casein intolerance, you may have more choices at Steel City Pops than you think.

All dairy is not created equally. Lactose and casein are the two aspects of dairy to which people develop sensitivities or intolerances; these components also occur in varying amounts depending on the dairy in question. Generally, the higher the fat content, the lower the lactose level. Heavy whipping cream, for example, is only comprised of up to three percent lactose. Additionally, it has virtually no casein; unless the allergy is severe, the likelihood for irritation is very minimal.

If you have a weakness for creamy pops, this is good news! Several of the creamy options at Steel City Pops contain heavy cream as the only “dairy” ingredient. Such creamy pop options include: Chocolate, Coffee, Vanilla Bean, Coconut, Chocolate Chili, Chocolate Mint, Divinity, Eggnog, Ginger Bread, Pumpkin, and Tupelo Honey.

Food allergies and potential reactions can be difficult to gauge, so talk to your doctor before exploring new foods. We simply hope to help make you a more informed consumer, and continue to add taste bud-tantalizing choices to your diet! For more information regarding specific flavors and ingredients, feel free to email your questions to [email protected].

Back to News

Your Cart
Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop